a moment

after you explained to me, again, why we wouldn’t work, why we couldn’t be together, you walked me out to my car.

“i’m sorry,” you said.

“me too, ” i replied.

i turned to open my car door and you reached out to catch my arm.

“can i at least have a hug?” you asked.

“no,” i said as coldly as i could, “you can’t.”

and with that, i got into my car and closed the door. in my rear view mirror, i watched you walk back to your building. you paused right before you reached your door and started to turn around. in that moment, i thought that you were coming back for me. i thought that you realized that you couldn’t live without me and that, no matter how crazy it seemed, we were meant to be together. instead, you continued walking and i watched your door close behind you.

this was not the first time you walked away from me, but it would be the last.

as i drove away, tears streaming down my face, the music from my cd player spoke the truth of that moment, why does it always end up like this?

Tags: ,

Leave a comment